Black and White buildings
In this picture you can see local fishermen's wives transporting by donkey sacks of locally caught shellfish. Note the lack of traffic at this early date.
The imposing black & white frontage of the former Mostyn House School dominates this section of The Parade. The original 18th century building at its core was formerly known as the Mostyn Arms (previously the George Inn); it was from here that stage coaches once departed for Chester. When its proprietor Mrs Esther Briscoe died in 1855, there was no market for the building as a hotel, and it then became a school.
The Revd Edward Price transferred his pupils here from Tarvin, and in 1862 he passed on the business to his nephew Revd AS Grenfell; the premises were enlarged progressively by generations of the Grenfell family over the subsequent years.
The large 4 story building (with the little tower) in the picture dates from the 1890s, In 1932 a new facade was added creating the balconies and its present appearance. Following the closure of the school in 2010, this iconic former school building was renovated as private apartments in 2013/5.
It is an interesting fact that Thomas Brassey (1805-70), the famous civil engineer and railway contractor was the owner of freehold of these premises between 1849 and his death in 1870. The Grenfells were then able to purchased the freehold, allowing them to expand the school.